danaxxpert.blogg.se

Killer instinct season 3 gargos
Killer instinct season 3 gargos









It was a challenge under a tight deadline, but it was a lot of fun. Otherwise sounds would stack, wouldn’t shut off, and then I would sob.

KILLER INSTINCT SEASON 3 GARGOS MOVIE

We had to basically treat every animation as a small movie and post-score it and then we had to work with code to make sure it was always firing off on the first frame of the animation, wouldn’t get lost if the anim blended into a new transition, and actually turned off if it was cut short (ie: a minion getting killed). They are classified as a “projectile” in the game engine, so I didn’t have the luxury of tagging specific frames of specific animations. The issue here is that they were treated like a character. The Minions (Izzik and Dretch) jump out, ran around, interacted with the opponent and the player, and had a host of animations to cover. Sure, ARIA had her drones, but they primarily floated around and didn’t interact with the world. Gargos’s (I have no idea where to put the apostrophe in that…Gargos’? Gargos’s? Gargos’s’s’s’s’s’s?) minions were new challenge to KI. From there, I started building out all of his special moves, his cinematic moments, and his minions’ sound suite. He built out a lot of really cool flesh and whoosh layers for his movement in the stage while I worked with Shannon to build out a library of crazy assets which consisted of highly designed & stylized whooshes, impacts, explosions, charge-ups, etc…I then took that library along with my own library that I created using recordings that I did and then twisted them up using S-Layer, Kyma, SoundMorph, and a host of additional mangling tools. Bandy worked primarily on his basic move-set. I worked with my buddy Joshua Bandy here at Microsoft and Shannon Potter out at Formosa on this one. Gargos was an incredibly fun character to design sounds for. Begin the invasion! The big bad from Season 3 has arrived!









Killer instinct season 3 gargos